Click for live chat!

What to Do if You're In a Crash with an Uninsured Motorist

rest easy...

you've come to the right firm

We're Available 24/7
Call: (281) 748-2044
Contact Us Now To Get Your Free Consultation!
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form

Motor vehicle accidents happen on a regular basis. This is why most states require drivers to carry at least liability insurance to cover such accidents. In Texas, the driver who caused the accident is responsible for all damages resulting from the accident. Liability insurance can be beneficial for paying the costs of an accident. However, issues can arise when the at-fault driver does not possess insurance to cover these costs.

Insurance Requirements

In Texas, a driver is required to carry at least $25,000 for property damage and $30,000 for each injured person, with a total of $60,000 for injuries per accident. This coverage can ensure most damages and injuries are paid for by the responsible party. Unfortunately, not everyone carries the required amount of insurance. This can be due to licensing issues, difficulties with costs, or simply due to carelessness.

Unfortunately, when the at-fault driver does not have the proper insurance, regardless of reasons, it can make things difficult for the other party to make repairs or receive needed medical treatment from the accident.

Uninsured Motorist Insurance

There is an optional coverage that a person can add to their insurance policy to protect them in these situations. Uninsured motorist insurance can provide drivers with coverage in situations where the at-fault driver does not have insurance to cover damages. This allows a person to receive compensation to cover the costs of the accident immediately.

From there, the insurance company will often take steps to recoup the money from the at-fault driver. Although a requirement in some states, Texas does not require this option to drive. If a person does not have this optional coverage, they may have a difficult time recovering the costs of damages and injuries.

Negligence Claim

When the at-fault driver does not have insurance and the injured driver does not have uninsured coverage, the only option left is to file a negligence claim against the at-fault driver to recover the costs of the accident.

Unfortunately, this can be a complicated and confusing process for many people. In addition, statutes of limitation in Texas limits a person's ability to file such claims past the first two years following the accident. This means that a person must quickly take action for the claim to go through.

An attorney can help with this process. They understand the laws concerning accidents in Texas and can help with all aspects of the filing process. They can even assist in recovering the proper amount of compensation to cover all costs associated with the accident. Our Houston car accident lawyers at The Daspit Law firm are here for you.

Call us today to discuss your potential case.

We Take Your Fight As Far As It Needs To Go

All too often, accident victims are steamrolled by insurance companies determined to minimize or deny their claims. Don't let this happen to you. Hire us to fight for the compensation you deserve.

contact us
see all the team

Past Blogs