Offices Throughout Texas, Including Houston, Galveston & San Antonio. We Will Come to You!

ClickCease
Request Your Free Consultation
Get Started Right Away! Schedule your first consultation with the firm now.
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.
    • The submission of this website form does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Unless a formal relationship has been established in writing, the information presented throughout this site, and any response to this web inquiry, either verbal or in writing, should be considered for informational purposes only, and any information provided to the firm should not be viewed as privileged or confidential.

5 Texas Laws Every Motorcyclist Should Know

5 Texas Laws Every Motorcyclist Should Know

Although motorcycles are a great form of transportation for many Texas, they can pose a great number of risks when driving. To help keep motorcyclists safe on the roads, our Texas motorcycle accident attorneys have put together five Texas laws that every motorcyclist should know.

#1: Helmet Laws

In Texas, helmets are required for any rider under the age of 21. Motorcyclists over the age of 21 are not required to wear a helmet if they have specific insurance coverage but are still encouraged to do so since they have been proven to save lives. For motorcyclists not to wear helmets, they must obtain the proper certification or insurance coverage. Such riders must either complete a Department of Motor Vehicles-approved Motorcycle Operating Training Course or obtain at least $10,000 in medical insurance.

#2: Passenger Laws

In Texas, no one under the age of five years may ride as a passenger on a motorcycle. Any passengers over the age of five and under 21 years old must wear a helmet. Additionally, motorcyclists must have a permanent passenger seat.

#3: License Laws

Individuals who want to ride a motorcycle must obtain a specific driver’s license – a class M license. All motorcycle riders (including moped drivers) must have a valid class M license in the state of Texas.

#4: Lane Splitting Laws

Lane splitting is when motorcyclists drive in the gaps between passenger vehicles during heavy traffic. It is illegal for motorcyclists to use the lane-splitting driving technique in Texas.

#5: Motorcycle Equipment Laws

In Texas, a motorcycle must have all of the following equipment to be legal and drivable.

  • Stop lamp
  • Horn
  • Mirror
  • Steering
  • Brakes
  • Tires
  • Vehicle Identification Number
  • License plate lamp
  • Headlamp
  • An exhaust system
  • Wheel assembly
  • Tail lamp
  • Rear red reflector

If you were injured in a motorcycle accident, contact our Texas motorcycle accident attorneys today at (888) 273-1045 to schedule a consultation!

Categories: