ClickCease
Request Your Free Consultation
Get Started Right Away! Schedule your first consultation with the firm now.
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.
    • The submission of this website form does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. Unless a formal relationship has been established in writing, the information presented throughout this site, and any response to this web inquiry, either verbal or in writing, should be considered for informational purposes only, and any information provided to the firm should not be viewed as privileged or confidential.

How Long Do I Have to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Texas?

How Long Do I Have to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Texas?

Texas workers are entitled to receive benefits if they are injured or became ill because of their job duties. If you were injured or suffer an illness due to your job, you are entitled to seek worker’s compensation. Unfortunately, there is a statute of limitations for workers who delay filing a claim or experience symptoms later. Our Houston worker’s compensation attorneys explain how long Texas workers have to file a worker’s compensation claim.

Statute of Limitations for Worker’s Comp In Texas

Texas workers must file a worker’s compensation claim within one year after the accident or learn about their work-related illness. However, to file a worker’s compensation claim, you must report your injury to your employer at least 30 days after the injury. It is best to notify your employer as soon as you're injured to prevent their insurance company from becoming skeptical. If you have a medical condition that developed over time, the 30-day period begins as soon as you’ve learned that your condition was related to your work.

What If My Worker’s Comp Gets Denied?

If you’ve filed a worker’s compensation claim and it got denied, you can still challenge the decision. You will need to participate in a benefit review conference before you can get to a hearing with a worker’s comp judge. Since worker’s compensation claims can be complex, especially if your claim gets denied, it is best to seek strong legal advice.

Experienced Houston Worker’s Comp Attorneys

If you were injured on the job, you are entitled to seek worker’s compensation. Our Houston workers compensation lawyers have helped people throughout Houston recover the compensation they deserve after being hurt at work. We have the skills and expertise needed to help you develop a strong case to obtain the compensation you need.

Contact our Houston worker’s compensation lawyerstoday at (888) 273-1045 to schedule a consultation!

Categories: